The CSU makes every effort to keep student costs to a minimum. Fees listed in published schedules or student accounts may need to be increased when public funding is inadequate. Therefore, CSU must reserve the right, even after fees are initially charged or initial fee payments are made, to increase or modify any listed fees. All listed fees, other than mandatory systemwide fees, are subject to change without notice, until the date when instruction for a particular semester or quarter has begun. All CSU listed fees should be regarded as estimates that are subject to change upon approval by the Board of Trustees, the Chancellor, or the Presidents, as appropriate. Changes in mandatory systemwide fees will be made in accordance with the requirements of the Working Families Student Fee Transparency and Accountability Act (Sections 66028 - 66028.6 of the Education Code).
Campus fees should be regarded as estimates that are subject to change upon approval by the President and/or Student Fee Committee, without notice.
- Late Admission
- Financial Aid Recipients
- International Students
- Tuition Assistance (TA) -Tuition Cost
- Subsidized Students
- Tuition Status
To verify that your fee waiver and/or 3rd party authorization has been approved & noted on your record:
- Log into your Student Center to view your account to ensure the proper balance adjustments have been made.
Students admitted two weeks before, on or after the first day of the semester, are waived of the Late Registration Fees charged on the first day of the semester through Census day. Payments received after the 4th week of the semester will be assessed a non-refundable administrative fee of $20.
If you are found to be ineligible for financial aid after you have enrolled in classes or if your financial aid is not sufficient to pay your tuition and fees in full, you are responsible for paying the fees or unpaid balance on or before the 4th week of the semester (for published due dates by term, click here). After the 4th week of the semester a non-refundable administrative fee of $20 will be assessed for all unpaid tuition and fees.
If you register for classes and decide not to attend SF State, you must drop all classes by the published refund deadline online through your Student Center or in person at the Registrar's Office. To view the current Important dates by Semester, see Student Information.
Disbursement: The Financial Aid Office will not authorize disbursement until you are officially enrolled in at least the minimum number of units required for the types and amounts of Financial Aid you have been awarded. There will be no exceptions to this requirement, for more information, got to the Financial Aid website.
Newly admitted and continuing veterans, reservists, and military dependents who are eligible for Veterans educational benefits should contact the Veteran's Certification Office at the One Stop Student Services building, prior to registering.
California Veterans Fee waiver: All eligible military dependents must submit their Letter of Authorization certifying eligibility to receive a fee waiver under the State of California's Military and Veteran’s Code 890-980 and/or the California Education Code, Section 32320, to the Veteran's Office every semester before the fee payment deadline. Students must pay the local fees by the fee payment deadline. To view the current Important dates by Semester, see Student Information.
: You will be responsible for the campus based fees
To learn more about Military Tuition Assistance as well as other military college benefits, contact our Veteran's Certification Office at the One Stop Student Services building, prior to registering.
If a government agency (U.S. or foreign) or private company is going to pay your tuition and fees, submit a letter from the subsidizing organization to the Bursar's Office, ADM-155 on or before the published fee payment deadline for each semester. The letter must include:
· Your name
· Student I.D.
· Semester covered
· Amount of the subsidy
· Point of contact at the organization.
For a full listing of important dates, by semester, see Student Information.
If the subsidy does not cover full tuition and fees, the balance must be received by the fourth week of the semester. After the 4th week of the semester a non-refundable administrative fee of $20 will be assessed for all unpaid tuition and fees.
If you are also receiving financial aid, the subsidy letter must be received prior to your financial aid disbursement to prevent the subsidized amount from being deducted from your award.
Payment deadlines and penalties as stated above apply to subsidized and Special Circumstances students. Should the agency fail to pay any unpaid fees by the end of the semester, fees will be posted back to the students account and it becomes the student's responsibility to pay the obligations.
Residency Status Change: Students who wish to change their status from nonresident to resident should submit a Residency Questionnaire form and a Refund Request form on or before the first day of the semester (not the first day of instruction).